A moment of Weakness


snow 232

I had a moment of weakness. A friend of mine lives not far from the Colinette mill in Llanfair. I was going for a visit a couple of days ago and had no choice really but to pop in. I promised I wouldn’t spend any more than £10 in the sale room. It didn’t work. They had mini skeins of Jitterbug, their sock yarn in the sale room. I just couldn’t help myself.

I have decided though, that this was not entirely my fault. It would have been rude of me to go to my friend’s house empty handed and we hadn’t passed a flower shop, so obviously yarn was the next best thing.

It is not a good idea to go in there when you are between projects. It is a dangerous inspiration. The way the colours cascade down the walls like waterfalls made from a rainbow… It takes all my self-restraint not to throw myself at the displays! How can you resist a wall of fire, or a stand of blues and purples that look like a lagoon waiting to be dived into?

It is such a tactile place; wicker baskets and plenty of hand knitted blankets draped over inviting chairs. The yarns are not twisted up and popped into pigeon holes; no, they are lose skeins, hung from stands showing them in their true colourful glory. It is impossible, even with your least favourite yarns, not to bury your hands in the colours.

I’ve heard a lot of people (yarny people that is) confess their urges to smell yarn, hold it against their faces for that soft sqooshy test. This place is the kind of place where you simply cannot resist.

It doesn’t matter if you love or hate Colinette yarn, their mill is beautiful. It makes me think of Willy Wonka’s factory. Just off the sale room, you can peep through a little window in a door to where the magic happens and the yarn is dyed. Haven’t seen any strange little orange men yet, but who knows?

I am also very lucky that my other half and my children love trains – they can spend just as long looking at the Llanfair narrow gauge trains at the other end of the car park as I can getting cosy with the yarn. A fortunate coincidence?

I took these photographs to show a friend and convince her she must visit but I guess it’s a little rude not to share with you too. Enjoy!

Ok, so I had a little relapse from my yarn diet. So I caved a little with my vow of no more yarn. Everyone can have a weak moment, right? I will try harder next time. And take flowers.

snow 225snow 226snow 233snow 227snow 231snow 234snow 237

About woodlandknitter

Who am I? A Mummy first a foremost to my two children, Toby and Emily. We took the decision to home educate the children after Toby had many problems within state education. Unable to send them to a Steiner school at present we base their education around the Waldorf ethos. This is working out wonderfully so far and we wish we had done it sooner. Secondly I am a fibre obsessive. Knitting, spinning, felting, dyeing or just generally stroking, anything goes. You can usually find us in the woods or up a hill, by the ocean's edge or climbing trees. Follow the little trail of yarn clippings and there we will be, me with some form of fibre in my bag at all times. #118 We try to live a simple, natural and holistic lifestyle, making sure that we connect to nature daily. Fairy tales and seeking out the enchanted in everyday life is a big part of our lives, as is plenty of craft and art. I am a new member of a medieval re-enactment group, the House of the Black Star and have met some amazing people through it. I have much to learn from them. In this blog I hope to inspire and share with you the things which inspire me. Feedback is always enjoyed and appreciated. Comments on my blog are always loved! I hope a little woodland magic makes you happy today! #037 Find me on facebook Ravelry Craftsy Etsy Pinterest
This entry was posted in children, craft adventures, Fibres, knitting, Spinning and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A moment of Weakness

  1. Donna says:

    Can’t believe I’ve never been but seeing those photos I REALLY have to go!!

  2. well i understand the temptation! ahh! and am shivering with inspiration at such an abundance of beautiful yarn to access….
    i also made a knitolution (love the word, thanks)
    to finish one thing before i started another, but somehow i had cast on for a quick beret for a cold girl, while still in the midst of boys alpaca sweater and found myself buying yarn for a set of his and hers adult tricky lace scarves… how does this impulse sneak upon me?
    i would love to help you with the overlocker scenario, but Australia is so far away! i have done a lot of home sewing and value the overlocker immensely, i would recommend a four thread version so that you don’t have to sew the hem with the sewing machine after.
    often you can get a lesson from the business who sells you the machine.
    all the best
    roselinde

    • I’m not even going to admit to how many new projects I have cast on… though they are requests from family so I would feel mean saying no.
      Thank you for the advice – I will keep that in mind!

Leave a Reply

