Yarn in York


My internal yarn magnet kicked in very quickly on the night we arrived in York. We were walking along in the darkness, when I had that familiar pull. Moments later we were stood outside Ramshambles, a pretty little yarn shop with a tempting window display nestled in the Shambles.

vikings 123

vikings 121
Returning the next day (when it was open!) I learned there were two others nearby… Repeating my mantra (I shall not buy, just look) I broke away from the family for half an hour to have a nosey.
I can’t remember the name of the second shop, but they had a beautiful selection of Yorkshire yarn. I’m not one for buying mugs or fridge magnets, so I thought I should get some sort of souvenir; and so the lusciously soft white skein did not count as a yarn purchase. Really, it didn’t.

vikings 140

vikings 138
But the shop I totally fell for was the third. Grace and Jacob. A little walk away from the centre this Aladdin’s cave made my eyes pop and took so much self restraint I very nearly passed out.
They have an amazing array of fibres for spinning – many dyed by their own talented hands. The yarns were stunning too; from Aslan Trends which I have never been able to touch before, to their own dyed skeins…
I must have walked around that little shop 10 times and imagine I must have appeared quite mad as I am sure there were little gasps and ‘ooos’ coming from me every three minutes.
But, even though the temptation was strong I actually managed to buy very little. I took their card away instead so when my new year’s Knitolution of not buying until after WonderWool is over I can pop online and buy guilt free!

vikings 162

vikings 161

vikings 160

vikings 159

vikings 158

vikings 157
Somewhat late I dragged myself away and went to meet my clan. We spent the rest of the day mingling with Vikings and exploring York.
I really was very well behaved and only spent 10 minutes in Neal’s Yard, and my trip into Duttons for Buttons was limited only to some essential buttons, even though they seemed to sell every kind of button you could ever possibly need.

vikings 170

vikings 169

vikings 172
We also discovered another little shop I’d like to tell you about. Softpots dwells inside a little alley. An alley converted into fairyland. You step inside and are drawn down into a little open area that would be perfectly at home in Glastonbury.
Made from recycled tights these soft pots are some of the loveliest plant pots I have ever seen – I’m looking forward to ordering a kit and having a play with decorating them and giving some much loved plants a new home. From the hustle and bustle of the busy streets of York it felt like stepping into another world. Sounds died away and it contained a magical effect of making you feel suddenly calm. I could have sat there for hours talking to the plants’ carer and shop owner.

vikings 267

vikings 273

vikings 268

vikings 270

vikings 271
I still haven’t decided what I’m going to do with my, ahem, souvenirs, but I have a feeling the fibre will be spun into a little shawl.
I was tempted to use the yarn to make a hat with my newly learned ability to Nahlbind, but it uses so much yarn I’m not yet sure it will go far enough. We shall see.

087

078

About woodlandknitter

Who am I? A Mummy first a foremost to my two children, Toby and Emily. We took the decision to home educate the children after Toby had many problems within state education. Unable to send them to a Steiner school at present we base their education around the Waldorf ethos. This is working out wonderfully so far and we wish we had done it sooner. Secondly I am a fibre obsessive. Knitting, spinning, felting, dyeing or just generally stroking, anything goes. You can usually find us in the woods or up a hill, by the ocean's edge or climbing trees. Follow the little trail of yarn clippings and there we will be, me with some form of fibre in my bag at all times. #118 We try to live a simple, natural and holistic lifestyle, making sure that we connect to nature daily. Fairy tales and seeking out the enchanted in everyday life is a big part of our lives, as is plenty of craft and art. I am a new member of a medieval re-enactment group, the House of the Black Star and have met some amazing people through it. I have much to learn from them. In this blog I hope to inspire and share with you the things which inspire me. Feedback is always enjoyed and appreciated. Comments on my blog are always loved! I hope a little woodland magic makes you happy today! #037 Find me on facebook Ravelry Craftsy Etsy Pinterest
This entry was posted in craft adventures, Fibres, garden, knitting, nature, seasonal, Spinning and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Yarn in York

  1. Donna says:

    I didn’t manage to find Grace and Jacob, looks like I missed out big time. We were too concerned about being able to get home before the mad weather hit. If we’d stayed until the next day as planned I may have gone there. I did find Ramshambles and bought two skeins of yarn in there which I’ll bring on Wednesday. Popped into Duttons too.

  2. wow! self restraint! i wish i could bi-locate and browse that wool store while my family thinks i am mearly tapping away on the laptop in the other room…
    what a delightful place
    Roselinde

Leave a Reply

