Nuno Felting and a Drive Through the Hills


I finally plucked up the courage to Nuno felt the edges of some gorgeous fabric I bought from WonderWool this year.

Trust me. This took a lot of guts. I had to cut it down the length and was utterly terrified of spoiling the fabric!

Nuno felting is a process of wet felting animal fibres etc to lightweight fabric, thus creating a lighter felt than you normally would, plus adding texture with the combination of felt and fabric.

It works in the same way as standard wet felting; layering fine layers of wool in a criss-cross fashion while gently rubbing with hot soapy water. You just pop the fabric between the fibre. You can also add other textures, such as silk or bits of thread which will not felt, so long as they are “anchored” down by over lapping felt-able fibre.

 

Fabric sandwiched between the layers of fibre. You can see a strand of silk which will not felt, but will end up puckered below the merino.

Fabric sandwiched between the layers of fibre. You can see a strand of silk which will not felt, but will end up puckered below the merino.

It is great fun, almost like painting with fibres, but it is also very slow!

A full day later and I have my ocean wrap almost complete. I’d like to add some tiny seed beads here and there, but that can wait.

I took it out for its first adventure the other day while we went for a drive through the foot-hills of the Snowdonia Mountain range.

 

see how the silk glints below the felt...

see how the silk glints below the felt…

 

 

A strand of un-carded teeswater has behaved in a similar way to the silk

A strand of un-carded teeswater has behaved in a similar way to the silk

 

 

ghf 056##

 

ghf 139##

 

ghf 217#

 

ghf 170#

 

ghf 203#

Whilst on our travels I think I may have found my dream home…

ghf 064##

…and Emily and Toby found theirs

ghf 127

 

ghf 129##

 

During a walk we met some new friends…

 

ghf 110##

 

ghf 101##

 

…perhaps they could smell themselves and got a little confused as to why it was coming from a pair of sticks. My latest project is the Hemlock throw found on Ravelry.

 

ghf 045##

 

Have you Nuno felted before? If not, try it! It is very rewarding and something the kiddiewinkles love to get involved in too!

And just to say thank you for stopping by, have a flower to brighten your day!

ghf 050##

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About woodlandknitter

Who am I? A Mummy first a foremost to my two children, Toby and Emily. We took the decision to home educate the children after Toby had many problems within state education. Unable to send them to a Steiner school at present we base their education around the Waldorf ethos. This is working out wonderfully so far and we wish we had done it sooner. Secondly I am a fibre obsessive. Knitting, spinning, felting, dyeing or just generally stroking, anything goes. You can usually find us in the woods or up a hill, by the ocean's edge or climbing trees. Follow the little trail of yarn clippings and there we will be, me with some form of fibre in my bag at all times. #118 We try to live a simple, natural and holistic lifestyle, making sure that we connect to nature daily. Fairy tales and seeking out the enchanted in everyday life is a big part of our lives, as is plenty of craft and art. I am a new member of a medieval re-enactment group, the House of the Black Star and have met some amazing people through it. I have much to learn from them. In this blog I hope to inspire and share with you the things which inspire me. Feedback is always enjoyed and appreciated. Comments on my blog are always loved! I hope a little woodland magic makes you happy today! #037 Find me on facebook Ravelry Craftsy Etsy Pinterest
This entry was posted in children, craft adventures, felting, Fibres, knitting, nature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

