A village wrapped in woollens – and some serious yarn deprivation


Hello – I have missed you all!

What a month! We very unexpectedly moved house and everything has been in utter chaos. We are only in this house for a very short period of time and then it’s another move.

I’m living next door to a friend though, who is also a yarn addict which makes things a lot easier! The only problem is the sweet torture of having to walk through her little shop of handmade woolly beauty and stunning hand-spun yarns every day. It’s not as bad now, but when we first moved in the only knitty bits I had with me were two DPNs and a ball of Rowan fine tweed. Believe me, there are only so many uses for I-cords!

 

Even a street can look like a knitting pattern when you're yarn deprived... can you see the chevron and garter border?

Even a street can look like a knitting pattern when you’re yarn deprived… can you see the chevron and garter border?

Thankfully now I have my yarn stash with me and my spinning wheels. I won’t tell you too much about the storage facility where the rest of our possessions are currently living, but I couldn’t leave my poor yarn there; not where fishing bait is being cooked 5 days a week… Shudder… Anyway!

We are about 10 miles from the Shropshire village of Bishops Castle. An afternoon out one day and we spotted a little something I had to return back to photograph just for you lovely people today!

#kjh 047

#kjh 049

 

#kjh 056

 

#kjh 062

 

#kjh 059

 

#kjh 044

 

#kjh 060

 

#kjh 064

 

#kjh 065

 

#kjh 066

 

#kjh 068

Even the fairy got pom-poms

Even the fairy got pom-poms

The only thing without knitwear... maybe that's why he looks so sullen?

The only thing without knitwear… maybe that’s why he looks so sullen?

 

 

This is yarn bombing with style! If ever you can you must see it!

So, what else is new? My lovely neighbour taught me how to make dream catchers which I have always wanted to be able to do…

#kjh 034

Otherwise it has been lots of knitting for yuletide presents now. Have you started yours? Do you dread it and knit like mad at the last moment or plan months ahead, or even never knit for Christmas at all?

We had our first snow this morning so my current favourite spot is curled up in front of the log burner!

Please do keep popping back, I have not forgotten about you all, I’m just without internet access so posts may be less frequent than normal…  xxx

Spot the house

Spot the house

 

About woodlandknitter

Who am I? A Mummy first a foremost to my two children, Toby and Emily. We took the decision to home educate the children after Toby had many problems within state education. Unable to send them to a Steiner school at present we base their education around the Waldorf ethos. This is working out wonderfully so far and we wish we had done it sooner. Secondly I am a fibre obsessive. Knitting, spinning, felting, dyeing or just generally stroking, anything goes. You can usually find us in the woods or up a hill, by the ocean's edge or climbing trees. Follow the little trail of yarn clippings and there we will be, me with some form of fibre in my bag at all times. #118 We try to live a simple, natural and holistic lifestyle, making sure that we connect to nature daily. Fairy tales and seeking out the enchanted in everyday life is a big part of our lives, as is plenty of craft and art. I am a new member of a medieval re-enactment group, the House of the Black Star and have met some amazing people through it. I have much to learn from them. In this blog I hope to inspire and share with you the things which inspire me. Feedback is always enjoyed and appreciated. Comments on my blog are always loved! I hope a little woodland magic makes you happy today! #037 Find me on facebook Ravelry Craftsy Etsy Pinterest
This entry was posted in knitting, seasonal, Spinning, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A village wrapped in woollens – and some serious yarn deprivation

  1. lluisa says:

    Oh wow!! What a wonderful place!!! Where is please?? I would like to visit it soon 🙂

    Lluisa x

  2. Fionadp says:

    What an amazing place. I love the hanging basket.

Leave a comment